BPC-157 Evidence Review: What Has and Has Not Been Studied in Humans
BPC-157 has three decades of animal literature and almost no human clinical literature. This review sets out exactly what human data exist, what they are, what the preclinical record does and does not support, and which trials are registered but unreported.
Most of the deep-dive articles in this library describe what human clinical trials have found. This one has to begin differently, because for BPC-157 the central fact of the evidence base is an absence.
A systematic review published in 2025 searched PubMed, Cochrane and Embase from database inception to June 2024, screened 544 articles in three phases with two reviewers, and included 36 studies. Thirty-five of the 36 were preclinical. One was clinical. That one was a retrospective series of 12 patients [7]. A narrative review published in the same year identified three pilot studies in humans in total [8]. A biopharmaceutical review published in 2026, after more than three decades of preclinical work, records that there is no approved formulation, no validated administration regimen, and no completed phase 2 clinical trial [9].
This article sets out what that record actually contains: the human data, the registered trials that have not reported, the animal literature the compound is known for, the cell-based work beneath it, and the specific reasons the preclinical record has not been carried into clinical development. It describes published research, and it contains no guidance of any kind on handling any material.
The distinction that matters throughout is between three categories that are routinely collapsed in secondary coverage: a finding in rats, a finding in cells or isolated tissue, and a finding in people. Almost everything written about this compound belongs to the first two.
What has been reported in humans
Human clinical research
Results from pharmaceutical clinical trials describe the investigational material and populations used in those studies and should not be interpreted as establishing the effects of research-grade materials offered for laboratory use.
The one clinical study in the systematic review. In a retrospective study of musculoskeletal pain after intra-articular administration for unspecified chronic knee pain, 7 of 12 patients reported relief lasting more than six months [7]. That is the whole of it: 12 patients, retrospective, no control group, no randomisation, no blinding, an unspecified indication, and a patient-reported outcome. The review classifies its included evidence as level IV and level V — the lowest tiers of the hierarchy it uses.
The three pilot studies. The 2025 narrative review counted three human studies in total: the intra-articular knee study above, a study in interstitial cystitis, and an intravenous safety and pharmacokinetics study. It reports that no adverse effects were described in them, and states plainly that rigorous, large-scale trials are lacking and that the compound should be considered investigational [8].
Clinical safety data. The systematic review's finding on this point is unambiguous: preclinical safety studies showed no adverse effects across several organ systems, and no clinical safety data were found [7]. An absence of reported adverse effects in three pilot studies is not a safety profile. It is a sample too small to detect anything but a common and severe event.
The inflammatory bowel disease programme. The compound entered clinical development in the 2000s under several codes — PL-10, PLD-116, PL 14736 — by Pliva in Croatia, and the literature from that period describes it as being in trials for inflammatory bowel disease [1]. No completed randomised controlled trial from that programme has been published in the indexed literature, and the 2026 review's finding that no phase 2 trial has been completed stands [9].
Registered trials that have not reported. A phase 1 safety and pharmacokinetics trial was registered in 2015 with an estimated enrolment of 42; its registry status has not been updated to completed and no results have been posted [12]. Two registrations are recent: a phase 2 trial in acute hamstring strain with an estimated 120 participants, listed as recruiting with a February 2026 start [13], and a phase 1 trial in patients following rotator cuff repair surgery with an estimated 30 participants, listed as not yet recruiting with a 2027 start [14]. A registration is a statement of intent. It is not a result, and a trial listed as recruiting has, by definition, reported nothing.
Where the evidence actually comes from: animal models
Animal research
The reputation of this compound rests on a rodent literature spanning three decades, and that literature is real, consistent within itself, and almost entirely produced in rats.
Tendon-to-bone. In a rat Achilles detachment model, administration was reported to promote tendon-to-bone healing and to oppose the aggravating effect of corticosteroid [2]. A 2026 study compared BPC-157 and TB-500 in a rat Achilles model using histopathological and biomechanical assessment [11].
Skeletal muscle. In a rat transected quadriceps model, administration was reported as effective therapy for the transected muscle [3].
What the reviews make of it. The 2025 systematic review summarises the preclinical picture as improved functional, structural and biomechanical outcomes in muscle, tendon, ligament and bony injury models [7]. The 2025 narrative review describes regenerative properties across numerous animal models, mediated through VEGFR2 and nitric oxide synthesis via the Akt–eNOS axis, ERK1/2 signalling, angiogenesis, fibroblast activity and neuromuscular stabilisation, with particular relevance claimed for poorly vascularised tissues such as tendon and the myotendinous junction [8].
Three things constrain what any of this establishes. Rodent injury models are surgically created, acute, and healed in a healthy young animal on a fixed timeline — a poor match for the chronic, degenerative, heterogeneous conditions the compound is discussed in connection with. A large share of this literature originates from a small number of closely related research groups, which is not an accusation of error but is a reason a systematic reviewer weights it cautiously. And rodent efficacy has an extensive record of failing to reproduce in human trials across every field of medicine, which is why phase 2 exists.
The cell-based and human-tissue work
In vitro research
Beneath the animal literature sits a cell-based layer that describes mechanism rather than effect.
Tendon fibroblast studies report effects on tendon outgrowth, cell survival and cell migration [4], and enhanced growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts [5]. A separate line of work associates pro-angiogenic activity with VEGFR2 activation and up-regulation [6].
A 2026 study examined endothelium-dependent, nitric-oxide-mediated vasorelaxant responses in isolated human internal mammary artery segments [10]. This is worth separating out carefully, because "human" in the title of a paper is frequently read as "in humans". Isolated tissue from human donors, mounted in an organ bath, is an in vitro preparation. A response in it describes the tissue's pharmacology, not a clinical effect, and no person received anything in such a study.
Why the preclinical record has not been carried forward
The gap between a large animal literature and an absent clinical one is itself documented, and the reasons given are pharmaceutical rather than political.
The 2026 biopharmaceutical review examines the compound as a development candidate and identifies formulation obstacles across routes of administration, a pharmacokinetic–pharmacodynamic disconnect — reported biological activity that does not sit easily with measured exposure — and regulatory and translational barriers that, in the authors' assessment, currently preclude clinical advancement [9]. The systematic review contributes a concrete piece of that picture: a reported plasma half-life of under 30 minutes, with hepatic metabolism and renal clearance [7].
A half-life measured in minutes is not disqualifying on its own — several approved peptides are short-lived — but it does mean that any account of a sustained effect has to explain how a compound that is gone within the hour produces it. That explanatory gap is what the phrase "pharmacokinetic–pharmacodynamic disconnect" names, and it is the kind of problem that a phase 1 and phase 2 programme exists to resolve rather than to assume away.
There is a second issue the reviews raise that has nothing to do with the molecule. Both note that material in circulation comes largely from unregulated sources, and both identify manufacturing quality and contamination as risks distinct from the pharmacology of the compound itself [7, 8]. That is a statement about supply chains, not about BPC-157, and the two should not be merged in either direction.
What would count as evidence, and what does not
The gap between what is claimed for this compound and what has been demonstrated in people is among the widest in the peptide literature. Four distinctions keep the two apart.
A registered trial is not a result. Registrations exist [13, 14]. A trial that is recruiting has produced no data, and a 2015 registration with no posted results after more than a decade is a reason for caution rather than confidence [12].
A retrospective series is not a trial. Twelve patients, no control group, no randomisation, no blinding, a patient-reported outcome and an unspecified indication is the entirety of the clinical evidence identified by a systematic review that looked for it properly [7].
A review is not evidence of efficacy. The three reviews cited throughout this article are the most reliable sources available on this compound, and what makes them reliable is that they report an absence. Citing a review favourably while omitting its central finding — that human data are extremely limited [8] — misrepresents it.
An absence of reported harm is not a demonstration of safety. No clinical safety data were found by a systematic search [7]. Three pilot studies reporting no adverse effects [8] cannot exclude uncommon harms, delayed harms, or harms in populations nobody has studied.
What would change this picture is ordinary and specific: a completed, randomised, controlled, adequately powered trial with a prespecified primary endpoint, published in full. Two such trials are registered. Until they report, the honest description of the human evidence for BPC-157 is that it consists of three pilot studies and a retrospective series of 12 patients, and that the compound is investigational, approved nowhere, and prohibited in competitive sport [7, 9].
All of the research described in this article is research conducted under laboratory or clinical protocols on material prepared for those studies. None of it is research into, or evidence about, research-grade material supplied for laboratory use.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are there any published human clinical trials of BPC-157?
What is the largest human study of BPC-157?
Is BPC-157 approved by the FDA?
What does the preclinical evidence for BPC-157 consist of?
Why has BPC-157 not progressed through clinical development?
Are any BPC-157 clinical trials currently registered?
Has BPC-157 been studied in human tissue?
What safety data exist for BPC-157 in humans?
References
- Stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 in trials for inflammatory bowel disease (PL-10, PLD-116, PL 14736, Pliva, Croatia). Full and distended stomach, and vascular response Inflammopharmacology; 2006. PMID 17186181 doi:10.1007/s10787-006-1531-7
- Achilles detachment in rat and stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157: Promoted tendon-to-bone healing and opposed corticosteroid aggravation Journal of Orthopaedic Research; 2006. PMID 16583442 doi:10.1002/jor.20096
- Effective therapy of transected quadriceps muscle in rat: Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 Journal of Orthopaedic Research; 2006. PMID 16609979 doi:10.1002/jor.20089
- The promoting effect of pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on tendon healing involves tendon outgrowth, cell survival, and cell migration Journal of Applied Physiology; 2011. PMID 21030672 doi:10.1152/japplphysiol.00945.2010
- Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 enhances the growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts Molecules; 2014. PMID 25415472 doi:10.3390/molecules191119066
- Therapeutic potential of pro-angiogenic BPC157 is associated with VEGFR2 activation and up-regulation Journal of Molecular Medicine; 2017. PMID 27847966 doi:10.1007/s00109-016-1488-y
- Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review HSS Journal; 2025. PMID 40756949 doi:10.1177/15563316251355551
- Regeneration or Risk? A Narrative Review of BPC-157 for Musculoskeletal Healing Current Reviews in Musculoskeletal Medicine; 2025. PMID 40789979 doi:10.1007/s12178-025-09990-7
- BPC-157 as an Investigational Peptide Therapeutic: Biopharmaceutical Challenges, Formulation Strategies, and Translational Development Barriers Pharmaceutics; 2026. PMID 42198317 doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics18050625
- Endothelium-Dependent Nitric Oxide-Mediated Vasorelaxant Effects of BPC 157 in Human Internal Mammary Artery 2026. PMID 42123221
- Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: A histopathological and biomechanical study 2026. PMID 42542926
- PCO-02 - Safety and Pharmacokinetics Trial. NCT02637284
- BPC 157 for Acute Hamstring Muscle Strain Repair. NCT07437547
- Impact of BPC-157 on Recovery Following Rotator Cuff Repair Surgery. NCT07803250
Every identifier above is resolved against PubMed, Crossref or ClinicalTrials.gov at build time, and the title returned by the register is compared with the title stored here. A page does not publish if a reference fails to resolve.
Research-Use Information
For in vitro research use only. This material is a laboratory reagent. It is not a drug, food, dietary supplement, or cosmetic and is not for human or veterinary use, including ingestion, injection, or any other administration. No information on this page describes or implies any effect in humans or animals. Sold only to researchers under our Terms of Sale.